Hometown Announce Split

Boyband Hometown have announced they are to go their separate ways.

The Louis Walsh managed group have been in existence for three years, supporting the like of The Vamps, McBusted and Olly Murs throughout that time.

Today the six-piece announced on their Facebook page that they are to take a break and pursue their "own thing individually". They thanked their fans for their support over the year and ensured that they still remain the best of friends.

The group, that consists of Cian Morrin, Dayl Cronin, Dean Gibbons, Josh Gray, Ryan McLoughlin and Brendan Murray, went to number one in Ireland with their single "Where I Belong", which was penned by Irish band Kodaline. The single became the fastest-selling single from a debut act and the fastest-selling single from an Irish artist in 2014. Their follow up single Cry For Help also reached number one in the Irish charts.

More from Entertainment